Lancaster University

This is archived news from Lancaster University. You can find up-to-date stories in our current news section.

Staff Prizes 2011

06/17/2011 00:00:00

​The 2011 Staff Prizes and the new Lancaster Teaching Award have been presented by the Pro-Chancellor Bryan Gray at the Summer Staff Party held at LICA.

Dr Willem Hollmann from the Department of Linguistics and English Language was presented with the Lancaster Teaching Award organised by the University and LUSU.

This is the first staff award where students are asked to nominate an inspirational teacher and they commented that his enthusiasm encourages them to study more about grammatical theory. One said: “He teaches in a way that makes a topic understandable, fun and inspiring.”

Several staff received the 2011 Staff Prizes including Laura McGowan and Kathryn Lambert from the UK Student Recruitment & Outreach Office for their hard work on a project to raise student applications from the islands of Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man.

Graham Smith (PPS) received a prize for his work in creating a new Department of Politics, Philosophy and Religion where as Undergraduate Director he was commended for his “exceptional organisational and diplomatic skills”.

The University Pre-School Centre, which is rated Outstanding and is a regional centre of excellence, received a prize. 
Lee Horsley (English & Creative Writing) was awarded a prize for her work into IT and web-related activities over the past decade, completely overhauling the departmental website and setting up  e-learning initiatives.

Judith Menzel (DELC) received a prize for making language learning more interesting for her students including organising a writer-in-residence programme, a German film club and departmental litfest.

Claire Waterton, Judith Tsouvalis, Lisa Norton, Stephen Maberly, Ian Winfield, Nigel Watson and Ken Bell were all awarded prizes  for the “Understanding & Acting in Loweswater” project where the team encouraged local people to become involved in addressing environmental problems.

David Brown (LUMS) was awarded the prize for his personal contribution and leadership in connection with the University’s links with China.   

Steve Quayle (Engineering) received a prize for increasing student recruitment in his role as Admissions tutor and Part One Director of Studies.

Louise Briggs (LUMS) was awarded the prize for delivering outstanding careers support for over 3,000 students based in LUMS, working with over 100 graduate employers.

Saskia Vermeylen (LEC) received the prize for her work as an international legal scholar, investigating the land rights of peoples in Africa and leading projects directed towards improving their livelihood.