Lancaster University

This is archived news from Lancaster University. You can find up-to-date stories in our current news section.

Lancaster changes to three faculty system

09/09/2005 13:47:35

Professor Tony Gatrell, Professor Mary Smyth and
Professor Sue Cox

Lancaster University formally adopted a new three-faculty system.

On August 1, 2005, the three faculties of Arts and Social Sciences, the Management School and Science and Technology replaced the former five-faculty structure of Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Management School, Environmental and Natural Sciences and Applied Sciences.

Three Deans will lead the new faculties. They are: Professor Tony Gatrell, Arts and Social Sciences; Professor Sue Cox, Management School; Professor Mary Smyth, Science and Technology.

Professor Bob McKinlay, Pro Vice Chancellor for Academic Development, said: “The Senate strongly endorsed the move to establish three Faculties on both academic and management/governance grounds. In the academic area, the intentions are to develop further the synergies between departments and to consolidate critical masses and centres of excellence. In the management/governance context, the intentions are to simplify and rationalise a large number of processes and procedures and to use the enhanced standing of the Faculties to develop further the delegation of responsibilities and authority.”

•Professor Tony Gatrell was Director of the Institute for Health Research from its creation in 1996 until December 2004. He is also Professor of the geography of health, having taught until 1996 in the Department of Geography, where he arrived as a lecturer in 1984.

His research interests are primarily in the geography of health, particularly geographical epidemiology, the geography of health service provision, and geographical aspects of health inequalities.

• Professor Sue Cox holds a Chair in Safety and Risk Management at Lancaster University Management School. She has held senior academic posts at both Nottingham and Loughborough Universities. In her previous role as Director of Loughborough Business School, she developed strong links with engineering managers and supported innovative initiatives concerned with the management of change. She has acted as a consultant in organisational culture change in relation to safety in a number of companies. She has also completed projects in China, Kuwait, India, Japan and the USA to support international developments in chemical safety. Sue is a member of the ESRC Strategic Research Board, a member of the Executive Committee for AIM and is listed in the 2005 edition of ‘Who’s Who’.

•Professor Mary Smyth is Professor of Experimental Psychology in Lancaster University’s Department of Psychology. She joined the department in 1975 and was Dean of Applied Sciences at Lancaster from 2000-2005. Her research interests include memory, spatial cognition, and human movement, . Professor Smyth is interested both in adult movement and cognition and in development in children, with a particular interest in how being poorly coordinated in the early years can affect motor, cognitive and social development. She is connected to the UK's two major learned societies for psychology - the British Psychological Society, of which she is a Fellow, and the Experimental Psychology Society, which promotes scientific research in psychology.